Tabitha Kyle claims victory in style at Bicton Arena

Tabitha Kyle claims victory in the Blue Chip Pony Newcomers Second Round in style at Bicton Arena.

Tabitha Kyle Showjumping winner at Bicton Arena. Credit - ESP Photographic

The talented Tabitha Kyle clinched victory in the Blue Chip Pony Newcomers Second Round at Bicton Arena’s Summer Pony Premier in Devon with Coppenagh Khaleesi. Winners of the HOYS Blue Chip Pony Newcomers title in 2022, Tabitha is aiming to retain her title.

“She only started jumping last year, she’d done almost nothing, but she gained experience very quickly. She has a massive stride and a massive jump, you can turn her up to anything, she’s a real speed demon,” said Tabitha.

A total of 71 competitors came forward over course-designer Krissy Spiller’s 11-fence 1.10m track with 29 achieving their initial aim of a clear round. These were further whittled down to 18 for the final decider against the clock to find the four HOYS finalist places.

With eight posting treble clears, it was all about the clock and it was close at the top, Tabitha edging ahead on the 9-year-old Irish-bred mare Khaleesi to win with only 0.14 seconds in hand.

“She jumped three beautiful rounds and I think she will be the best speed pony,” said Tabitha, who has spent time getting to know this pony. “She was very head-shy and sharp – I’m not sure what sort of life she’s had – but I spent time in the stable just stroking her for 10 minutes at a time and once she knows you, she’s very loving, she just needs to learn how to trust.”

Abigail Jupp slotted the 8-year-old Lucky Clover Boy – already at HOYS in the Leading Pony Showjumper of the Year – into second place. Emily Page took third on the 8-year-old Tresais Legacy and Jocelyn Jeary claimed the final ticket on offer with the Vincent 11-year-old stallion Vincenzo NRW.


Bicton Arena – Saturday, 17 June 2023

Blue Chip Pony Newcomers Second Round

1st Tabitha Kyle & Coppenagh Khaleesi – 0/0/0 - 33.42 seconds

2nd Abigail Jupp & Lucky Clover Boy – 0/0/0 - 33.56 seconds

3rd Emily Page & Tresais Legacy – 0/0/0 - 36.48 seconds

4th Jocelyn Jeary & Vincenzo NRW – 0/0/0 36.52 – seconds


Image: Tabitha Kyle and Coppenagh Khaleesi Credit: ESP Photographic

Back to blog