The BSPS Heritage Mountain and Moorland Championship Final, Olympia 2016

Olympia is now underway and the BSPS Heritage Mountain and Moorland Championship Final, sponsored by Blue Chip Feed will showcase 41 Fell, Exmoor, Shetland, New Forest, Connemara, Highland, Dartmoor, Dales and Welsh ponies who have qualified for this prestigious final at shows across the country throughout 2016.

Initial judging of the class commences at 9.30am on Monday 19th December with the large class being split into small and large breed sections, in

Lucinda Stapleton’s Marleydenes Nashaal following their qualification in October at the Heritage Championships

order for the performance judges, Sharon Thomas and Kevin White and the conformation judges, Stephen Howard and D Price-Jones to accurately assess each competitor and their mount. Performance marks are announced after each pony’s individual show, however, conformation marks are not revealed until the final, making the judging process even more nerve wracking for the owners and riders taking part.

The final result will be announced on Monday afternoon after a break in proceedings to make the final decision. This year, not only is the Championship title up for grabs, there are Best of Breed awards to be presented to each of the nine breed categories that are represented in the class. The title fight is wide open as last year’s winning combination, Rebecca Penny and her Fell stallion, Townend Schubert are absent from the start list so each rider has everything to play for in what is set to be an exciting end to a year of hard work and qualification for all competitors involved.

So who could win this year’s Championship title? A full list of competitors and their ponies are listed below, and following a last minute contest of eligibility for Lunesdale Dixie, Dales pony Waterside Black Prince ridden by Tarnya Shields has been lucky enough to gain the chance to compete


  • Lesley Payne’s Ambra Jacaranda, ridden by Jason Greenaway
  • Tom McManus’s Drummore Prince Charming, ridden by Katie Brown
  • Samantha Fowler on her own Glencarrig Marble
  • The Alfords’ Nire Valley Charlie, ridden by Charlotte Alford
  • Lady Huntingdon’s Slieve Bloom Jill, ridden by Hannah Horton


  • Julie Robinson on her own Moorlandsdale Mia
  • Tarnya Shields on her own Waterside Black Prince


  • J Minns’ Greenholme Caitlin, ridden by Tamsyn Bell-Heather
  • Katherine Marks on her own Hardendale Ray
  • Julie Robinson’s Lunesdale Warrior Queen, ridden by Anna Metcalfe
  • Jenny Crane’s Murthwaite Windrush, ridden by Stephanie Wheway


  • Melanie Stanford’s Benbreac Of Croila, ridden by Matthew Cooper
  • Mrs Brereton’s Dunedin Duncan, ridden by Harriet Dennison
  • Tamsyn Cornall-Howe’s Ellister Islay Mariner, ridden by Sarah Field
  • Edwina Warner’s Strahleven Drumochter, ridden by Clare Fitch

New Forest

  • Terry Pitcher’s Harveys Magic Moment, ridden by Abigail Staff
  • Lucinda Stapleton’s Marleydenes Nashaal, ridden by Gemma Rees

Welsh Section A

  • Gemma Pallet on Broekland Allesandro
  • Tonwen Hughes’s Uphill James Fox, ridden by Katy Marriott-Payne

Welsh Section B

  • Collette Green on her own and Kathleen Scott’s Cadlanvalley Sandpiper
  • Joyce Newbery’s Cadlanvalley Mr Bojangles, ridden by Tayla Lewis
  • Lucy Glover on her own Carrwood Shimmering Gold
  • Danielle Garner on her own Linksbury Miss Polly

Welsh Section C

  • Lynn Scott’s Lynuck The Snowman, ridden by Aimee Devane
  • The Halls’ Menai Thomas, ridden by Sarah Parker
  • Lynette Bates’ Popsters Joe Black, ridden by Kimberley Bates
  • Alys Lee’s Renvarg Robin Hood, ridden by Richard Clough

Welsh Section D

  • Emma Boardman on her own Dyffryngwy Sir Picasso
  • Catherine Hudson on her own Gwynfaes Macsen Wledig
  • Kelly Jones on her Maescrofta Don Juan
  • Alice Cook on her own Maesyfellin Llew Du
  • Michaela Wood on Martin Wood’s Swchyrhafod Brenin
  • David Lorimer’s Trehewyd Cardi, ridden by Kayleigh Evans


  • Megan Hewitt’s Dunmere Woodruff
  • Debbie Barr’s Hisley Silversmith, ridden by Alice Barr
  • Joyce Newbery’s Newoak Furious, ridden by Sam Roberts
  • Paul Starkie’s Pumphill Bennet, ridden by Aliya Khan
  • Lynda Calcutt’s Shilstone Rocks North Westerly, ridden by Chloe Chubb


  • Maureen Richards’ Dunkery Wigeon, ridden by Frankie Currell


  • A Stevens’ Brinleyview Cammanchee, ridden by Georgia James

If you are unable to be at Olympia on Monday 19th December, you can watch online via the Horse and Hound website and keep up with all the action via the link below:


The post The BSPS Heritage Mountain and Moorland Championship Final, Olympia 2016 appeared first on Blue Chip Feed | Horse Supplements & Horse Feed Balancers.



Sold Out